I had a canary once…

His name was Sunny. Bright yellow and such a great singer. He was my only bird at the time, and I loved hearing him sing. I decided he might like to listen to other canaries singing, so I bought him a cd. Canary songs. From “beginner” to “advanced” for 45 minutes. After I played it for him, he never sang again.

I think he lost his confidence.

Lesson learned: give birds, babies, children, prospective customers and business prospects what is developmentally appropriate and nurturing. Don’t overwhelm them. They may just tune out, turn off, have their fledgling confidence eroded and budding interest squashed. You might mean well, but meaning well is not enough. Use your listening skills, and don’t overdue it!

Sunny the canary

Leave a Reply

